Mystery Afghan Clue 6

Mystery Afghan
Mystery Afghan

This is the one clue that I am not afraid to admit, freaked me out a lot. I watched the video at 1 am Australian time when it was released and that was a mistake. I had nightmares the rest of the night.

I got up later on and had another look at it and still went thought that there is no way this is going to work. I actually thought that Mikey was nuts on this one.

Still on a bit of a freak out, I watched the video again. I listened to Mikey closely as he explained things and how it was going to go together and all. I listened about the mini balls and do realize that they are most defiantly needed here. I do not have a ball winder so I used a toilet paper roll. In the video Mikey would 43 times for his mini ball, I wound 45 times for that little extra and it is working well.

The first square to do is easy, I had to fudge a little to get the 10 loops needed for the set up but I got it to work. There are lots of little mistakes in this one but that is OK, with being so new and all. Would I make this again? At first I would tell you No Way, but now I would do it.

I kept the video in the background and stopped and rewind-ed as I needed to check the small things as I followed along. I felt pretty proud as I put my first two blocks together and it was not as scary as I first thought. It took a couple of times through stopping and starting the video and listening to the instructions, but I made it.

I have actually added more blocks since I snappy this picture. I cant wait to finish this clue. I am so far outside my comfort zone it is, so scary, well at least for me.

I read on The Crochet Crowd that some of the girls had almost given up. I so encourage you to keep trying, you can do this. Walk though each step with Mikey and stop and rewind the video as many times as you need to. You will get there, trust your skills. That was my problem at first, not trusting the skills that my Dad taught me and those I have learned since his passing  20 years ago.

I can’t wait to see everyone’s finished works of art. They are all truly amazing.

Excuse me while I get back to flying yarn and blocks.

Leave a Reply

