Crochet Frustrations

I gave up the other night on learning a new stitch and it was not for lack of trying. Here is the story……

2012-10-15 16.15.54

I originally had a blanket started for my grandson Gabriel, but because of time and wanting him to have something from Nanna sooner I went in search of a new pattern, hoping that it would go quicker and all. I love the ripple pattern but every time I tried to do it, it came out uneven. After numerous, I would usually just give up and try something I knew would go quick.

Years later and I found another simple pattern and thought I would give it another go, I watched the video and it seemed pretty simple, so here we go again. Following the pattern and all I honestly thought that I had it. Boy, was I wrong and after a few hours of frustration and ripping out rows I have once given in to the thorn of not being able to conquer it. So, once again last night I changed patterns hoping that time is on my side and I can get something special in the post to him soon.

I find myself looking for hours for new patterns and I love what I see but them when I find out how easy or difficult it is depends on if I give it a go. I made a challenge to myself this year to try new things, new stitches and patterns and all. So far with the crocheting it’s not going very well.

Sitting in my chair ripping out row after row, my thoughts went back to my Dad who was an amazing crocheter. He was really big on detail and if he found a mistake you went back and fixed it no matter how many rows needed to come out. He would sit there and work the ripped rows back before going to bed. I sat in my chair doing the same thing but I think the frustration won the battle for now. So, it is on to a new pattern and hoping that time is on my side. Its a simple pattern and should work up pretty quick.  I will get a picture of the original blanket and the new one so you can see what I struggled with.

Try not to get too discouraged or frustrated when learning new patterns. I am not going to let this get me down, just putting it on hold for a bit.

6 thoughts on “Crochet Frustrations”

  1. Don’t give up. Just think of the wonderful keepsake he will have forever when you are finished. My granddaughter (she’s 3) won’t let anyone touch the things I make her. She tells everyone Nanny made that for me you can’t touch it. It is a great feeling. You can do this. If you get stuck on a stitch watch youtube you can find anything on there lol

  2. I discover a wonderful thing early in crocheting life. Every crocheting company has a phone number, (sometimes you can find it in the beginning of your pattern book) you call this number and ask for technical support. You then leave a message with name of book, page number and where your problem is. They will call you back and walk you through the problem. The people are very helpful and go out of their way to help you understand. This has helped me to finish every projected I started. I hope find this information as helpful as I did. I agree with the person above, do not give up.

Leave a Reply

